The Nevada Legislature provides for property tax exemptions to individuals meeting certain requirements.
In addition to the tax exemptions, the State of Nevada has a Senior Citizens Tax Rebate/Rental Assistance program.
The benefits and eligibility requirements of the Surviving Spouse's,Veteranís, Disabled Veteranís and Blind Personís exemptions are as follows:
SURVIVING SPOUSEíS EXEMPTION (NRS 361.080)
The Surviving Spouse's Exemption applies to Nevada residents and is in the amount of $1,000 assessed value. To apply for the Surviving Spouse's Exemption, you must have been a Nevada resident for six months and provide a copy of your spouse's death certificate to the Assessor's Office.
VETERAN'S EXEMPTION (NRS 361.090)
The Veteran's Exemption is in the amount of $1,250 assessed value.
The Veteran's Exemption applies to Nevada residents who have served in the Armed Forces of the United States in any of the following branches: Army, Navy, Marines, Air Force, Coast Guard, the National Guard, or Reserves, while on active duty, and the Merchant Marine during time of war or national emergency. A veteran must have served during one of the following periods:
April 6, 1917 to November 11, 1918
December 7, 1941 to December 31, 1946
June 25, 1950 to January 31, 1955
January 1, 1961 to May 7, 1975
Also eligible are veterans who served on active duty in connection with carrying out the authorization granted to the President of the United States in Public Law 102-1, beginning August 2, 1990, and continuing until canceled by the United States Congress.
To apply for the Veteran's Exemption, you must have been a Nevada Resident for six months and provide the Assessor's Office with a copy of your honorable discharge, certificate of satisfactory service or separation documents.
DISABLED VETERANíS EXEMPTION (NRS 361.091)
The Disabled Veteran's Exemption is provided for veterans who have a permanent service connected disability of at least 60%. The amount of exemption is dependent upon the degree of disability incurred. The permanently disabled veteran with a 60% to 100% disability receives the exemption which ranges from $6,250 to a maximum of $12,500 assessed value.
To apply for the Disabled Veteran's Exemption, you must have been a resident of Nevada for six months and provide a copy of your honorable discharge, certificate of satisfactory service or separation documents and documentation from the Veteranís Administration of the percentage of service connected disability.
The benefits of this program may succeed to the widow of the disabled veteran who was eligible for the exemption at the time of death.
BLIND EXEMPTION (NRS 361.085)
The Blind Exemption is in the amount of $3,000 assessed value and is available to Nevada residents with visual acuity that does not exceed 20/200 in the better eye when corrected, or whose field of vision does subtend to an angle of 20 degrees. To qualify for this exemption, you must have been a Nevada resident for six months and provide a certificate from a physician licensed under the laws of Nevada, stating that the above requirements are met.
HOW DO I USE MY EXEMPTION?
An exemption may be applied to real property tax and personal property tax which includes business personal property and manufactured housing. The tax dollar amount of the exemption varies with the taxing district in which you live.
As an option you may choose to apply the exemption on your motor vehicle governmental services tax.
AFTER THE INITIAL APPLICATION, HOW MAY I CONTINUE MY EXEMPTION?
After filing the original affidavit, the County Assessor will mail you an Exemption Renewal notice in June of each year.
Exemption renewals should be returned to the Assessor's Office and will be reflected on the property tax bill.
To use your exemption towards the governmental services tax on your motor vehicle, you must take the exemption renewal notice received from the Assessor's Office and provide it to the Department of Motor Vehicles with your renewal registration form.
HOW DOES THE TERM "ASSESSED VALUE" RELATE TO TAX DOLLARS?
All property tax exemptions in Nevada are stated in "assessed value" amounts. The term "assessed value" approximates 35% of the taxable value of an item. The tax rates vary throughout the County, so an exemption of $1,000 assessed value could mean savings of $20.00 to $36.00 depending upon the area tax rate.
If the exemption is applied to vehicle governmental services tax, $50.00 is the maximum amount of savings.
HOW DO I DONATE MY VETERANíS EXEMPTION TO THE NEVADA VETERANSí HOME? (NRS 361.0905)
In 1995 the Nevada Legislature authorized the State Treasurer to set up an account to collect money for a Nevada Veteransí Home. In order for a veteran to donate his/her exemption to the Nevada Veteransí Home account, the veteran must pay his/her full taxes and direct the Assessorís Office to credit his/her exemption entitlement to the Veteransí Home Account.
WHERE CAN I APPLY FOR OR GET MORE INFORMATION ON THESE PROGRAMS?
All the mentioned benefits are administered by your County Assessor.
First time applicants for all exemptions must be in person. (NRS 361.091)
More information can be obtained on any of these programs by calling the Assessor's Office at (775) 237-5270.
Back to Eureka County Home Page
Back to Assessors Office
Site Last Updated 09/2000