WHAT THE ASSESSOR DOES:
The Assessor and his staff have the responsibility of accurately and efficiently estimating values of all taxable properties. The Assessor is required by Nevada law to discover, list and value all property within the county. The property is assessed at 35% of its current taxable value. In addition to valuing real property (land, homes, commercial buildings, ranches) the Assessor must value personal property of all businesses, mobile homes, aircraft and any other personal property, which is taxable. The Assessor collects personal property tax only as the ex-officio treasurer of the county.
WHAT THE ASSESSOR DOES NOT DO:
The Assessor does not make laws that affect property owners. The tax laws are made by the Nevada Legislature. The tax rates are set by the elected County Commissioners and guidelines for assessment standards are set by the Nevada Department of Taxation. The tax dollars on real property are collected by the elected County Treasurer. The Assessor does not determine taxes. The Assessor simply determines the property values.
WHAT IS TAXABLE VALUE:
Taxable value is the value of property as determined by the Assessor using methods prescribed by Nevada Revised Statues and the Department of Taxation regulations. Generally speaking, taxable value of real property is the appraised value of the land and the current replacement cost of improvements less statutory depreciation.
HOW DOES THE ASSESSOR DETERMINE TAXABLE VALUE?
The appropriate method under current law is that of replacement cost. Using this method, the Assessor must calculate the amount and cost of materials and labor it would take to replace the subject property. A depreciation factor of 1.5% per year is applied to the effective age of the property, up to a maximum of 50 years. Land values are derived from market sales or other recognized appraisal methods and are added to improvement values.
HOW ARE TAXES CALCULATED?
In Eureka County there are currently 5 tax districts. The tax rates for these districts are based on the amount of monies budgeted to them for the necessary maintenance and improvements of facilities and services. The tax monies collected for the districts pay for schools, roads, law enforcement and fire protection, along with other services that a taxpayer demands and desires from his local government. Eureka County enjoys one of the lowest property tax burdens.
To calculate the tax on your home, let's assume you have a house with a taxable value of $50,000 in the town of Eureka. The tax rate for 2000-01 in the town is $1.9126 per hundred dollars of assessed value. To determine the assessed value, multiply the taxable of the home ($50,000) by the assessment ratio (35%): $50,000 x .35 = $17,500 assessed value.
To calculate the tax, multiply the assessed value by the tax rate ($1.9126 per hundred dollars of assessed value): $17,500 (Assessed Value) x .019126 (Tax Rate) = $334.71 taxes for the 2000-01 fiscal year.
ADDITIONAL FUNCTIONS OF THE ASSESSOR'S OFFICE:
The Assessor is also required to maintain an updated set of plat maps that display all of the parcels in the county. This is accomplished through a CAD-based GIS (Geographic Information System). A "master map" of all parcels in the county is updated as parcel changes occur, and plat maps are created and placed in books for public viewing. The Assessor also assists other county entities with their mapping issues, including the Public Works Department and Road Department.
DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES:
Eureka County being a rural area, the Assessor's office acts as a Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles service center. The office is "on line" with the main DMV computer in Carson City and is utilizing the new Genesis computer system. The office performs registration and titling transactions, including vehicle renewals and issuing new plates. However, this office does not issue driver's licenses.
APPRAISER CERTIFICATION AND EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS:
According to Nevada Revised Statue 361.223, Nevada property tax appraisers must maintain a valid appraiser certificate by conforming to the following provisions:
Complete a minimum of 36 hours of approved training each year in order to accumulate a total of 180 hours within a five-year period. As a prerequisite, the board requires appraisers to take a minimum of 120 hours in the category of "Basic Appraisal Courses." The remaining 60 hours may come from other courses approved by the Board. After completion of the 180 hours an appraiser must take continuing education of 36 hours every five years of any Board approved courses.
The Department of Taxation, Division of Assessment Standards administers the certification of property tax appraisers.
The Eureka County Assessor's office has four certified appraisers, three real property appraisers and one personal property appraiser.
Site Last Updated 10/2000